Downloading Files ( download_url() WP function) not working on local DevKinsta

I am programmatically creating posts and use the Wordpress download_url() function to grab an image and put it in the media library. I spent a couple of hours trying to figure out why it wasnt working and then decided to push my work to the Kinsta staging site. Well there it worked perfectly.

What is different with DevKinsta in that it cant download files from URLs?

Hello @rreyes Rex! :wave:

First of all, I’m not a programmer/developer, and I only tested the following PHP script to test the download_url() WP function (which I found on the internet and just modified it a bit) :smiley:

So, I created the following simple PHP script on my local DevKinsta site (named it as dlurl.php - located inside my ~/DevKinsta/public/agus-site/ folder):

<?php

include( 'wp-load.php' );

// If the function it's not available, require it.
if ( ! function_exists( 'download_url' ) ) {
	require_once ABSPATH . '/wp-admin/includes/file.php';
}

// Now you can use it!
$file_url = 'https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/a/a9/Example.jpg';
$tmp_file = download_url( $file_url );

// Sets file final destination.
$filepath = ABSPATH . '/wp-content/uploads/downloaded-file-test.jpg';

// Copies the file to the final destination and deletes temporary file.
copy( $tmp_file, $filepath );
@unlink( $tmp_file );

The above code would download the image URL from the source:
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/a/a9/Example.jpg

to my local site folder as:
/wp-content/uploads/downloaded-file-test.jpg

Previously before I opened that PHP file (dlurl.php) locally on my browser, my ~/DevKinsta/public/agus-site/wp-content/uploads folder was showing this:

~/DevKinsta/public/agus-site/wp-content/uploads$ ll
total 12
drwxrwxrwx 3 agus agus 4096 Dec  8 08:15 ./
drwxrwxrwx 6 agus agus 4096 Dec  6 09:36 ../
drwxrwxrwx 8 agus agus 4096 Dec  5 06:50 2022/